Help - Search - Member List - Calendar
Full Version: PHP5?
WorkTheWeb Forums > Web Hosting Help > PHP Help
Support our Sponsors!
earthrisers
I'm still pretty new to PHP and MySQL.

I notice that an increasing proportion of the books available for learning the language are geared to PHP5.

Will that version of the language be supported in Work the web accounts?

If not, do I "endanger" myself by learning from a PHP5-related book --- i.e., would the syntax and the commands I'd learn in such a book be WRONG for the version of PHP that's available to me?
phpfreak
QUOTE(earthrisers @ Apr 19 2005, 01:00 PM)
I'm still pretty new to PHP and MySQL.

I notice that an increasing proportion of the books available for learning the language are geared to PHP5.

Will that version of the language be supported in Work the web accounts?

If not, do I "endanger" myself by learning from a PHP5-related book --- i.e., would the syntax and the commands I'd learn in such a book be WRONG for the version of PHP that's available to me?

Hi,

We support PHP 4.3.11 at this time. PHP 5 is not in the plans until PHP 5 becomes more production stable.
earthrisers
Does PHP5 change the syntax and command set, or is it "under the hood" changes?

I want to increase my knowledge of PHP coding I can use on my Work the web domains, I'm trying to decide whether I should read, or avoid reading, books that are written for PHP5.
phpfreak
QUOTE(earthrisers @ Apr 19 2005, 01:19 PM)
Does PHP5 change the syntax and command set, or is it "under the hood" changes?

I want to increase my knowledge of PHP coding I can use on my Work the web domains, I'm trying to decide whether I should read, or avoid reading, books that are written for PHP5.

the only main troubles you will have is with OOP in PHP5. All PHP4 code is suppose to work with PHP5.
coldkill